“Share the Wealth”

Alright…So I’m sitting on my sofa right now. I’m watching “Pranked” on MTV and 100% avoiding the writing of my paper. An 800 word essay (I know, that’s nothing at all) where I get to “Share the Wealth” on an American author that wrote after 1945. This is for a 300 level class, and while always trying to be a kid at heart, have chosen to write my paper on Shel Silverstein.

I’ve loved Shel since I was a little kid and I find his whimsical writing to be the perfect uplift after a day of, well, shit. I think that the illustrations that he put with his poems are fantastic.

This poem has become one of my favorites. I’ve never once said that I was a writer. I’m not all that great at it, or at least I don’t think so. But this poem with the illustration has been enough to make me want to work harder at the things that I have written. Shel has a way with words that I’ve never really experienced before which ultimately leads me to read an entire book of poetry in one night by him. I don’t know about you, but if a poet can do that to me, I think that everyone is able to find a poet that moves them in the same way.

Aaaaandddddddd moving on. haha!

Finals start this week and the only thing keeping me from those finals, and ultimately my break is, the writing of two papers. The one that I described above and another one for Mythology. And after that: Money. I’m so extremely excited about making some money over my break, I could pee!! I hate the feeling of being a broke college student. It really bites. Blech.

Finally, I just have to comment on the beautiful snow that we have currently in F/M right now. Today, it snowed so gently and the flakes looked like cotton as it sat on my windshield. I wish I could have watched it snow all day long. Damn cleaning. Keeping me from the window. I guess I’ll have to settle for the snow coming down upon my main page, huh?

Alrighty…So yeah…avoiding a paper that really needs to get done tonight. Definitely something I do a lot…but really shouldn’t ever do. I’d like to go to bed. I love sleeping. Which means I should wrap this one up for now.

Who is your favorite author or poet?
For all of you Uni students out there, how do you cope with the “broke college kid” feeling?


2 thoughts on ““Share the Wealth”

Leave a Reply

