Study Day??

Wednesday, December 8, 2010. A.K.A. Study Day here at MSUM. Don’t let the name fool you. I don’t know a single soul who actually studies for their finals on Study Day…especially since the campus puts on so many exciting things to do on Study Day!!

I mean…okay. I actually do have a final tomorrow that I need to study for…and I should write my paper today. I actually plan on getting both of these tasks done today….regardless of if I want to do them or not.

I feel like I’m rambling. Am I rambling? I dunno.

Oooh! Another story! This morning, myself and three of my residents went to Wal-Mart to purchase gifts for a child from the giving tree. We had $30 to spend on this child and pulled instructions for a little girl from the age of three to five. We bought her a cute fleece blanket with snowflakes on it, a trunk full of Tinkerbell themed dress up clothes, and a Mickey Mouse Clubhouse coloring book with some crayons. It was a great feeling to know that many of the young women on my floor came together to donate the cash they could have used for laundry towards the buying of gifts for kids that probably would not have gotten one otherwise.

Although I get along with all of my residents and enjoy my time with each of them, I absolutely loved spending this little time with the three I went with, especially since one of them is transferring at the end of this semester and another just moved to my floor about a week ago.

Each of my residents has their own personality, their own quirk…and each is absolutely beautiful in their own way. I am so happy that I have the residents that I do and am so blessed that I don’t have any problems with them.

Being an RA has been such a rewarding experience and I hope that I’ll be able to continue with my job for the next two years.

I’m going to end again talking about the snow. Yesterday, it fell so beautifully from the sky as I walked out of my final class period of this semester. I quite literally screamed in delight and promptly wrote a Haiku. No joke.

The snow is lovely
As it falls from the heavens
Welcome to my life

There is something so calming about the snow. Where I live, I hear complaint after complaint about the snow and the cold….but I find it to be so wonderful. It’s my favorite part of the year.

Have you done anything for someone else this holiday season?
What is your favorite time of year?


Leave a Reply

