Youer than you.

Dr. Seuss wrote a short poem. I knew of this poem, however, its words have eluded me until roughly five minutes before I started to write this post.

“Today you are you
That is truer than true.
There is no one alive
Who is youer than you.”

I think people, including myself, forget that they need to be themselves. We don’t have to change ourselves to make someone want to be friends with us or to have people think that we are amazing people. There is always going to be someone out there who is going to think that the sun shines on your ass no matter what you do, say, or think.

Today, while I read the above Dr. Seuss poem, I realized that I have kind of lost myself over the last year. I knew what I wanted in life, and I knew how I was going to get there…I just…kind of forgot to do things my way. There have been so many contributing factors to this, but that’s not really the important thing anymore. What is important is that I have realized my fatal flaw and am now going to take the plunge into getting back to being Melynda.

But now that I think about this, I’ve realized that yesterday built everything up to this realization for today.

I made the decision yesterday to tell someone how I felt about them. The reaction I got was exactly what I thought it was going to be, but tell you the truth, I feel way better about everything now. I’ve obtained a release. I don’t feel weighed by that thought that has been sitting in the back of my head for a really long time. Today, I feel okay. I feel happy. I feel like I can do whatever I want, whenever I want, however I want and never feel like I need to think about that weight and how it will affect my decisions.

So although my day started off like complete shit yesterday, it miraculously did get better in so many ways. I had an inspiring thought possess my head as I looked for a topic for my scene for my scriptwriting class. I’m happy to say that I know what I’m going to write, but am a little bummed out because I’ve hit a writer’s block. I haven’t done much creative writing in a long time, so this is like trying to start over. haha. But anyway, moving on.

I continued on my day until I had to go to drumline. Night Fire had our first performance last night and we totally rocked it. We cracked a key on our xylophone, our tendonitis flared, and my aggressive show playing caused blisters in between my fingers. It’s drumline season again, folks, and I’m so happy that I had the opportunity to play with such an awesome line. There’s a video of our standstill performance here.

Finally, I had an amazing call from my cousin Melissa. Ladies and gentlemen, Melynda Heying is going to be a godmother. I’m ecstatic and feel completely honored that someone truly believes that my love for God is deep enough to give me such a beautiful title.

Now, I need to note something here. For those of you who don’t believe in God or don’t want to read about my Catholic faith, feel free to jump ahead to the next paragraph. I won’t be offended. I promise. lol. So anyway, in my year of kind of losing myself, I’ve also kind of wavered from my faith at times. God noticed. He’s been hinting at this and trying to call me back for months now. As most people know, I’m kind of stubborn. I refused. But I can’t refuse anymore. Too many signs. My sister asked me while I was home if I would be her confirmation sponsor. Okay, God. You kind of have my attention now…but it’s not enough. Last night, Melissa asked me to be Evan’s godmother. A title that requires guiding a child through their faith. Alright. Alright. I can’t ignore you anymore. I’m here. And I’ll stay this time.

OKAY! For those of you who skipped to here, welcome! Here’s a picture to put thoughts into your head!!! 😀

I feel like this is ingenious.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I just love that photo. It makes me…happy. I dunno. I find happiness from the strangest places. haha

I think that maybe I should get back to writing my scene and should probably clean my room. It’s a huge mess and I don’t like it. I’m constantly distracted by my mess and can’t concentrate very well on the work at hand. haha. I’m lame. It’s alright, though. I know that I’m not the only one who can’t concentrate in a mess.

So I suppose I’ll go now. I just want to remind all of you who have kindly decided to read this post: Be yourself. Generic, yes. But like I said before, it’s something that a lot of people forget to do throughout their lives. Embrace your true self and don’t let anyone try to change you.

Where do you find that revelations come from for you?
I love you. :]


Leave a Reply

