I’m the Doctor. Basically…run.

Alright. So a couple posts back I said something like “Maybe I could just talk about how I’ve become obsessed with Doctor Who.” And so I thought to myself  “Melynda, why don’t you actually do something that you say you’re going to do on your blog??” And so, judging by the title, here we are, or I am rather, talking about Doctor Who and my obsession with the British television show.

Yes my friends, I am a Whovian.

So, this television show has been on the air since 1963, and unfortunately, I am only just tuning in on the 9th Doctor. Ooh. I should explain that to those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about. Okay. Here we go:

Doctor Who is about a 907 year old alien from the planet Gallifrey. Gallifrey is the home of the Time Lords. The Doctor is a Time Lord. The last of the Time Lords, actually. The Doctor travels around in his spaceship through space and time called the TARDIS which looks like a blue police box from the 50’s. The Doctor, like all Time Lords, has two hearts. The Doctor also has one constant companion: Death. It follows him wherever he goes. And when he gets too close to death, his two hearts allow him to regenerate. This regeneration gives him a new face, a new body, and a new personality. To date, there have been 11 Doctors through the seasons.

It’s always been said that you never forget your first doctor. My first doctor was Christopher Eccleston. However, as much as I loved him, and to be honest, cried when he regenerated, I love David Tennant’s portrayal of the Doctor so much more. He’s witty and wonderful and I miss him now that Matt Smith has taken over.

I recently was told that my uncle used to watch Doctor Who when he was younger. That makes me smile on the inside. Mostly because he and I don’t have much in common. I guess I don’t really know him. He’s my godfather…but…I dunno. I guess I wish I knew more about him. Anyway…off of that subject now.

THERE’S A NEW SEASON OF DW THAT PREMIERS ON APRIL 23RD!!!!!

I’m so excited. Like. For real. Have I ever talked about Skins UK here before? If I haven’t…you’ll be getting a post similar to this soon on Skins. Point: I’m pretty sure that I’m more excited about the new season of DW than I was about the new season of Skins in January. So. Friggin’. Good.

There’s little to not love about Doctor Who. The music is so wonderful (it’s stuck in my head all the time), and there is adventure around every corner. It should be known, though. When DW is good, it’s REALLY good. But when the episodes are bad…they’re really bad. Like…there was an episode called The Wasp and the Unicorn. That one was about a giant alien wasp who kills a guy with a lead pipe then falls in love with a human. Yep. Pretty weird.

I’m sure you’re wondering why I’ve become obsessed with this television show or how I even found it. To be perfectly honest, it’s because of Charlie McDonnell. He’s a YouTube “star” more commonly known as charlieissocoollike. I highly suggest watching some of his videos. They’re quite funny. :]

Anyway, I’ve gotten off topic again, but I think that I could rant and rave about my love for Doctor Who forever, so I’ll spare your time for now.

I’ll leave you with this, though:

Why do I love Doctor Who? Doctor Who gives me something to love, something to be terrified of, and something to believe in all at the same time.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

