A Ravenclaw Conversion

My African-American Literature class was canceled this morning because Hazel hurt her shoulder. And although I’m really happy to not have to walk across campus for class this morning (it looks kind of dreary even though it’s 54 degrees out), I hope that Hazel’s shoulder feels better rather quickly.

So anyway, instead of doing something productive like write one of the two papers I need to write by tomorrow, I’m going to write this blog post. Huge shocker for us all, right? haha.

So yesterday while I was enjoying my time off from classes, I watched around seven episodes of Torchwood (this happens to be a spin-off of Doctor Who. Yes. I’m obsessed.) and was able to read the book that I’m giving a presentation on for Hazel’s class. Around midway through the book, one of my residents came to my door with some of her friends who happen to be NerdFighters. Brilliant!! We talked Doctor Who and youtube for awhile and it was all good and fabulous. And though briefly, Chelsea (one of the NerdFighters) and I discussed Harry Potter.

She asked me which house I was in and I promptly answered “Gryffindor”. There was no doubt in my mind at that very second that Gryffindor was the house that I belonged in. Our conversation wrapped up and I continued to read my book. But, as the night went on, I couldn’t help but wonder if I had given the right answer to Chelsea.

I started to remember when the whole “getting sorted” thing was becoming popular and, as the younger Melynda I was, I took the test, too. And for every question, I always answered in favor of Gryffindor. Every time. Because in my mind, being put anywhere else was just not acceptable. I wanted to be in Gryffindor because that’s where the trio was.

Yes, I am aware that I’m talking about something that really doesn’t matter. What does it matter which “house” I belong to?? I’m a 20-year-old university student who is still completely and utterly obsessed with Harry Potter. It matters because Harry Potter was my childhood and still holds meaning today. I grew up with Harry, Ron, and Hermione and, to be honest, I still learn things from these books every time that I read them. Harry Potter is a big part of my life and, as I completely embrace my new NerdFighter status, my “house” DOES matter.

So, with my somewhat guilty conscious in-tow, I googled “sorting hat personality test”. I took four of them. And, for the first time ever, I answered each question with complete honesty.

Every single test exclaimed that I was a Ravenclaw.

“Or yet in wise old Ravenclaw,
If you’ve a ready mind,
Where those of wit and learning,
Will always find their kind.”

I don’t know why it never hit me before that I was probably a Ravenclaw. I mean, I’ve always been rather witty and interested in learning, but I’ve, as stated earlier, always just wanted to be in Gryffindor.

I feel at ease now. Yes. About something so silly. But I’m not lying to myself anymore about something that has been so big in my life. I find this to be a brilliant release regardless of what anyone thinks.

So this brings us to the end of today’s presentation on being true to yourself. :]

So until next time,

Cheers.

❤

3 thoughts on “A Ravenclaw Conversion

  1. Wait, wait, WAIT a minute! You thought you were in GRYFFINDOR!?! The house with Neville Schlongbottom!? No, no, NO!

    I’m sorry, my dear, but I always thought you were a Ravenclaw. Not just because I myself am a Ravenclaw, but because you just seem that way. And because I am a Ravenclaw, I consider it a good thing.

    I have an extra “Keep Calm And Be A Ravenclaw” necklace…and I think I know who to give it to!

    And if you ever say “I think I’m a Hufflepuff” … well … WHAT THE HELL IS A HUFFLEPUFF!?

    Oh…ten points to Dumbledore. 🙂

  2. You’re not the only one Red Stix 🙂 I always wanted to be a Griffyndor too…as it turns out, I am also a Ravenclaw ….. I guess we were all fated to become friends. 😀

Leave a Reply

