Thoughts From Home

It seems to me that I’ve gotten into this nasty habit of starting my blogs with something to the effect of “So…it’s been awhile.”

I rather dislike this cruel and frustrating fact about my writing. But can you blame me? This is the first week that I’ve had in the last two months where I have had absolutely nothing to do but play video games all day. And to be perfectly honest: I don’t mind playing VGs for six hours straight. I actually quite enjoy it. Which makes sense…because why else would I be doing it?

REGARDLESS! I’m back. Maybe this will be the only time all month, but by golly, I’m back!

As the title suggests, I’m back home for the summer. I am enjoying being able to sleep until nine and get up only to shuffle  to the family room with my Harry Potter blanket, grab a Wiimote and sit down on the sofa to partake (as previously discussed) in some video game playage.

Now, before the judgmental thoughts come flying towards me, I must defend myself by saying that I have accomplished some stuff this week. I’ve obtained a job at The Home Depot, I’ve gone to the chiropractor, I’ve worked an eight-hour shift, and I’ve cooked supper three nights in a row. I feel like I deserve at least six hours a day playing LEGO Harry Potter. Because all I do is win. And other stuff. But mostly winning.

Now, the big question that many people have asked me in the past week while I’ve been home, is “do you like being home?”. I almost always respond with “meh”.

It’s quite difficult, as many university students will probably say, to be virtually on your own for nine months of the year, only to come back to a house where you now live “under” other people. Now, don’t get me wrong, I have some of the most chill parents that I have ever met. I’ve never really had a problem with doing what I want to do because I’ve always been told “We’ll trust you until you do something that would make us not trust you.”

And not to mention, I’m 20-years-old now. I live here, yes, but there’s more or less the agreement that if I’m going out, I’ll let them know. I’m not really obligated to stay here with my parents and sister, although to be honest, I have encountered some guilt trips before, I just generally stay here.

And the fact that I stay here on many weeknights sometimes leads to a conflict of interests. I’m used to being able to control my environment for the most part; eat when I want, sleep when I want, etc. I suppose I could still do all these things, but I’m now sharing my space with three other people. We share a kitchen, bathroom, and living area. Yes, I used to live on a floor with 39 other females, but I still had my room to go back to and close my door and do whatever I wanted.

It’s kind of hard for me to put into words the conflicts that go on between me and the life I live in Rockville, but just trust me when I say, I might have been better off in Moorhead for the summer.

To be perfectly honest, however, the worst part of being in Rockville is that all of the friends that have become my family in the past nine months all live in different places and I miss every last one of them. I walked in to the Grantham lounge on my first day of training practically knowing no one on my entire staff and left last Saturday hoping that the following two months would go quickly so that I could see them all again. I miss them all so much. And if any of you are reading this, know that I love you and each of you truly made an ever-lasting impression on me.

Other than that, I don’t really have much else to report. I started my job (kind of) yesterday at The Home Depot. I should be flying solo (or that’s what they tell me) by Wednesday at the cash registers. Although I miss my job at the pharmacy, I already make a dollar more at THD than I did at T-White. I really can’t complain.

Finally, I started that vlog I was talking about. One difference though: it’s a collab vlog with my friend Molly which means that we switch off on the days that we do it. I’m currently uploading my Friday video, “Sans Meatloaf”, as I type this blog post and I would love it if you checked it, and others, out. We’re looking for two things: subscriptions and someone else who may be interested in joining us with our vlog. If you’re interested in the latter, send me a text, email, or fb message. You can find our vlog here: SuperAwkwardSauce.

Oh…and one last thing: I’m soooooooo far behind in my Potter challenge. I’m going to try to get back into reading this week, but we’ll see where that takes me until the premiere. I’M SO EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So that’s pretty much all I’ve got to say right now. Hopefully I’ll be back sooner than I was today from the last post, but I can’t make any guarantees.

Until then:

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

