A New Mission

Holy cow!! I’m posting more than just once a month!! Woot, woot!

But, you know, maybe I shouldn’t get so excited; that was my goal from the start to blog more than just once a month and I’m setting myself up for success this time because I’m starting a new mission. I plan to blog every Tuesday and vlog every Thursday. So that means that there will be a new post and a new video at least once a week in addition to my collab vlog with my friend Molly.

“What will you be vlogging and blogging about?” you might ask me. I plan to start writing and talking about my life as an RA and an English/mass comm major and the VP for the pep band and in drumline. It’s a lot to take on and some people might be interested in knowing what it’s like to do so many things at once. So I’ll start off by giving a brief overview of what it takes. I’ll touch on some things in more detail in future blogs/vlogs.

One thing that people don’t realize is that being an RA means that I live and work in the same place; there is no escaping my job. Not even when I go home to visit my family. I’ve gotten texts from residents asking me about things on Christmas. It’s just something that comes with the job. And quite frankly, I love it. (The job, that is…not being called and/or texted at the most random times about the most random things.)

As for being an English/mass comm major, the important thing to know is that I end up reading a lot of stuff in a short amount of time. Yes, I was able to read all of the HP books in a little over a month, but this is different. This is reading full novels in two days. Normally, this isn’t something that is hard for me. But when the books aren’t all that interesting, I tend to fail. The other thing about being an English major is that I write a ton of papers. Nine times out of ten, if you ask me what kind of homework I’m working on, I’ll respond with “I’m writing a paper for my<insert English course here> class.” I mean…it gets stressful, but I always seem to pull through.

And on top of both of those things, I’m still greatly involved in music. I play for a drumline based out of Fargo and I’m also the VP for the pep band on campus. I work hard at both of these and they’re both time consumers. But to be perfectly honest, I’m not sure that I would trade either of them for anything. They just mean wayyyyy too much to me.

So now, you might be asking about the vlog that I’m going to do. My goal is to pick one thing that I’m working on and talk about it. Whether it is something for English where I might be discussing a book that I’m reading for a course or maybe it’s the decorations that I’m working on for my floor for my RA job, or it could possibly be about the music that the band is going to be playing at the next pep band show. I’m looking to make this as diverse as I can to fully represent what I do with my life while I’m at uni.

I’m choosing today to start this mission for myself because today is the first Tuesday that I’m back on campus for the new school year. So while I figured that this was a really good idea, I’m already thinking about kicking myself because I have a ton of stuff to do and yet, here I am, writing a blog post and trying to decide what my vlog will be about on Thursday. It will probably be about RA training which is something that I’ll be doing every day this week from 8a.m. to 8p.m. It’s kind of a stressful time, but I’ve done it before and I made it through just fine.

So with that, I’ll bid farewell since I do, in fact, have a ton of stuff that I need to do before I go to sleep tonight. Which means that I should stop spending my time on writing a blog post. Meh. I do what I want.

So until next time,

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

