It’s Reaaalllly Hot Outside

The end.

Kidding. But it really is rather hot outside. It makes me just want to stay inside all day and possibly read a book while laying in bed.

I decided today, as I was laying in the shade between classes, that not enough people take the time to lay in the grass and watch the clouds or the leaves on the trees. I laid in the grass for almost an hour today in this glorious campus mall that we have in the center of everything. It’s so brilliant! I am making it my mission to lay in the campus mall at least once a week (if not wayyyy more) until it gets too cold to do so any longer. I think that a lot of people would benefit by doing the same. Maybe I’ll bring my book with me next time…

As I’ve said before, I’m reading Angels and Demons by Dan Brown, but I haven’t gotten very far because I’ve been so busy getting ready for my school year. And I’m finding that I’m pretty afraid that I’m not going to be able to finish it in a timely fashion because I’ll have too much reading to do for other classes. It’s day two and I’ve already got tons of reading to do. I mean, I’m pretty sure that I can handle it…I just don’t know if I want to. But I will. Mostly because I’m bound and determined to pull off a four-oh this semester. It would be my second-ever and I think that it would be pretty frickin’ awesome. Maybe that’s just me and my Ravenclaw status.

Speaking of Ravenclaw….I still haven’t gotten my Pottermore email yet. :/ If you don’t know what Pottermore is, I’m not judging you nor do I really care. Just know that I’m sad that I haven’t gotten it yet.

So anyway, moving on.

Exciting things have happened today! I got an email back from my lovely aunt which stated that I am, for sure, going to NYC for New Year’s and to see Daniel Radcliffe on Broadway. My year just got a little brighter.

I decided this morning after receiving this email that this is going to be the best year of my life so far. That’s the goal anyway. I’m finally on a really good blogging/vlogging schedule, I’m turning 21, I get to go to NYC AND Ireland, and I’ll be graduating relatively soon. There is very little for me to complain about, me thinks.

But on that list of very little things to complain about, I have to throw in that this Dahl renovation is kind of kicking my ass. I can’t remember if I’ve said that before or not, but I’ll say it again: the Dahl renovation is kind of kicking my ass. Something about power tools being used at 6 in the morning rings a bell. It honestly breaks my heart to have a resident text me so early in the morning asking how much longer the construction crew was going to be around. It’s feeling a bit ridiculous. But there’s not much we can do except for keep our heads up and look forward to how beautiful the building will be when it is finally done. It’s just a bit foggy for some of us right now.

Speaking of my residents, however, I’m so delighted that I have such lovely ladies on my floor. They are all so polite and wonderful. It’s nice to know that there are people on my floor who have the same interests as I do. I can talk about Harry Potter and Doctor Who and have at least one person join in on the conversation. I have a couple nerds on this floor and I think it’s a beautiful thing to be.

And for my nerdy side: Pep band starts tomorrow with our first meeting. I’m pretty excited about this because we had approximately 50 new freshmen put their names down as being interested in our organization. It made my heart swell. Hopefully we have some awesome retention this year and don’t fall apart again. We’ve come up with a few solutions and I think that they’re going to make things a heck of a lot better for all of us.

Do any of my readers have a bookshelf that they’d be willing to part with? I need one for my room. There is no place to put my textbooks and it’s making me sad.

Finally: If anyone wants to be awesome and send me something wonderful, you can send it to this address:

Melynda Heying
119 Dahl Hall
Moorhead, MN
56563-1020

I don’t really know what else to say, so I’ll just wrap it up awkwardly…..like right now.

Until next time,

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

