I’m on a roller coaster that only goes up, bro.

So I know that last week I said that I was going to talk about my heroes for this week. But…I don’t have enough time to talk about my heroes this week so I’ll put that on my list of things to talk about at some point. It will be glorious. And it will include the likes of John Green, Daniel Radcliffe, Darren Criss, Chris Colfer, and a few others. Look to the future. It’s coming.

But while I’m not going to talk specifically about those heroes, I will bring up John Green today. Over Spring Break I read The Fault in Our Stars. 

HOLY SHIT.

That book. I just…I can’t even with that book. I lost all my abilities to ‘can’ after reading that book. I was laughing. I was crying. I was frantically sobbing. It was…a really weird sensation that I am so happy to have experienced.

But the point of my rambling is to say that that book is one of THE best books I have ever read.

Without giving up virtually any details of the book, basically it’s about this girl (Hazel) with cancer who meets this boy (Augustus) in a support group. When asked how he is, Augustus answers with a variation of “I’m on a  roller coaster that only goes up.”

I’ve been living my life for the past couple months in a weird haze. I’m not quite happy and I’m not quite depressed. I’ve been stuck in the middle. And it’s an awful, awful middle to be in.

This book has changed that for me.

It is now my goal to live each day like it’s the best day of my life so far. (That phrase is being taken directly from one, Michael Schreifels.) Basically: if my day isn’t awesome, I’m doing something wrong.

Sure. I am absolutely acknowledging that there will be some down days. Days when things aren’t going the way they’re supposed to. But I can’t agonize over them.

So here I am. Telling people that I’m on a roller coaster that only goes up. Rocking at life. Doing awesome things. And…yep. haha!

Just a few quick notes before I run (awesome things, I swear):

  • I’m about to leave to look at houses to rent! YAY!!
  • I just registered for my final semester of classes! YAY!!
  • I updated my 101/1001 list! YAY!!
  • I’m listening to some awesome tunage! YAY!!

My life is awesome. And so is yours. Believe me.

Cheers.

 

 

Leave a Reply

