Perfect movie is perfect.

The summer of 2011 was kind of a weird one for me. It was the first time that I wasn’t going to be working at the pharmacy that I had worked at all through high school. I had decided that I was going to read all seven books in the Harry Potter series over the course of six weeks. I claimed that my childhood was ending because the eighth installment of the Harry Potter films was released into theatres. I spent too many nights up late. I slept in much too often. And one beautiful, beautiful book changed my life.

I had heard of The Perks of Being a Wallflower numerous times before I read it, but I had never found the time. But last summer, I decided that it was time.

I had a day off from work one random Thursday and I started reading when I woke up and didn’t go to bed again until I was done.

That damn book made me laugh, cry, sob, roll my eyes, cringe, and smile all within the confines of two book covers.

Dear Stephen Chbosky: Fuck you. Sincerely, Melynda.

No but really. Charlie was one of the most relatable characters that I’ve ever had the pleasure to read. I never once thought that he, or Sam or Patrick for that matter, were unrealistic people. I found myself right next to them as they navigated their own adventures through high school. And even though I didn’t have the same experience as they did, I still felt like I did. I understood their fears and their insecurities. I found my headspace shifting to sit comfortably in with Charlie’s as he slowly regressed. The book made me feel like I was at home in the strangest of ways.

And that line. The line that defines the entire book. The line that I strive to embrace and feel on a regular basis: “And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.”

Do you ever just have those moments when you read a line in a book or a poem where you just have to stop yourself and reel all of your thoughts and your “feels” back in because that one line sent them all haywire? It was that line specifically in this book. That line made me cry. Nine words made me cry. And at the time I didn’t really know why I was crying. I didn’t understand what kind of impact they were going to have on me in the long run. Because sometimes I read books that don’t really leave that much of a lasting impression on me. And then there are books that completely take me in. They force me to think about things in ways that I never thought possible and to feel emotions that I generally try to keep suppressed  And it’s those books that cause to have to look around the room and realize that reality was still moving on while I was creating a new world in my head through the aid of a fantastic writer.

But now when I have the chance to look back on it, I realize that I cried because at that moment I realized that I hadn’t given myself the chance to feel infinite in any of the things that I had done. I never allowed myself too much freedom in the crazy and obscure. I cried because I wanted my life to be a bigger adventure.

I can say now that I’ve felt infinite since then.

Now, you’re probably wondering why I’ve titled this about a movie when I’ve just spent the past six hundred words talking about a book. Well. I saw the film adaptation of Perks last night with the beautiful Beth.

I touched on this briefly when I put up my post for November 2 early this morning by saying that I had just had a good cry about a film. Yes. The novel made me cry and the film made me cry just as much.

I don’t think that I’ve ever seen a film where the writer of the book writes the screenplay, which made this experience so much better. Stephen Chbosky created a world inside of his head once by putting it on paper, then again by allowing the audience to see it the way that he saw it. And damn was I moved by this film.

Recently I’ve read that some people didn’t think that Logan Lerman was a good Charlie, but I think he was perfect. I feel like Logan captured the essence of Charlie. He had this beautifully timid yet lionhearted way about him that worked amazingly on screen. It wasn’t Logan as Charlie. It was more like…Logan IS Charlie. And this continues for the rest of the cast as well. With Emma Watson as Sam and Ezra Miller as Patrick. While I don’t think that I’ve seen anything else with Ezra in it, I can honestly say that not once did I see Emma on the screen and think of Hermione Granger. And let’s face it, Emma’s American accent is perfect.

Okay. So I’m going to stop fangirling about the actors (Cuz we all know how crazy I can get when I’m talking about celebrities. And Emma Watson in general. *side-eyes bedroom wall with Emma Watson pictures on it*).

But basically, I’ve never seen a film more true to the novel. Yes, I know that Stephen Chbosky wrote it. But even JK Rowling changed things away from her books for the film adaptations. I was so incredibly moved by this film. So like I said: Perfect movie is perfect. I urge all of you to go see it even if you haven’t read the novel. It has glorious themes running through it for people on all walks of life. But if you do enjoy reading, I highly encourage you to read the novel. It’s a life changer and I’m in awe every time that I read it.

And when you’re done, come back and we’ll discuss it. We can go be psychos together about it.

I hope your November the third has been a beautiful one for you even if the skies are a tad bit gloomy today. And if you’re looking for something to do, I’ll be working at the diner from 5-3 tonight. Otherwise I’ll be back tomorrow with more to say about this crazy life of ours.

So until tomorrow,

cheers.

And go be infinite.

 

 

Leave a Reply

