Procrastination at its finest

It may not seem like I’m procrastinating on this post. But the truth is, I’m procrastinating on everything else and forcing myself to crank out this post in order to make time (even if it’s mere minutes of extra time) for everything else that I have to do today.

When I woke up this morning, my “to-do” list had about ten things on it. Five of them had to be completed by the time my class started at 1:30. The rest are going to class, serving at work, writing a paper which is due by 10 tomorrow morning, and voting (look for a post on voting tomorrow!).

See, I’ve gotten really, really good at making time to procrastinate. For example, I had full intentions of writing my paper yesterday so that I could come home from work tonight and go to sleep. Instead, I accidentally fell asleep on the sofa last night then forced out a blog post and never even started my paper. I didn’t even open a word document. So because I wasn’t productive, I decided to make time to procrastinate by telling myself that I’ll do it when I get home from work tonight and forgo sleep. And if we remember from yesterday’s post, I love sleeping.

I asked one of my friends yesterday about why, even after four years of college, I am the way that I am. Why do I still suck at making time to get my coursework done on time when I’m more than willing to sit down and watch VlogBrothers videos on YouTube or to read an entire book in a day? I could have had the time to write this paper last week, but instead I’m waiting until nine hours before it’s due to even start it. He responded by saying “We all procrastinate. It’s okay.” Then followed it with “Senior slide. There is your excuse.” But can I really boil this down to being a senior who graduates in 46 days even though I’ve been doing this my entire college career?

I’m starting to believe that it’s a huge mixture of just about everything. Wow. That really narrows it down, doesn’t it? But what I really mean is that I try to make room in my life for the things that will make me happy. Combine this with the “senior slide” that my friend suggested. Then top this all of with “bad habits die hard.” And there you have it. A better (though still terrible) reason for why I procrastinate so badly.

But now the question is: How in the world do I fix this with so little time left in my semester?

The simple solution is to just stop procrastinating. And trust me, I’m laughing at this answer. You should be, too.

A few things come to mind, though. I’ll go back to making physical lists so that I can tangibly cross things off with a pen. I’ll use more post-it notes again (I even added them to my Christmas list). And I’ll even start scheduling in breaks during work instead of scheduling work during my fun. I think that if I really set myself up to finish this semester strong, I can do it. And walking across that stage in December is going to feel so much more worth it as long as I  know I put forth my best effort.

This is going to be difficult. But if I fix the issues I am having trouble with now, I’m going to be the best that I can be when I finally get that “big girl job” that I so desperately want to find after I graduate. The Trevor Project may only be a glimmer in my eyes now, but one day it can be a tangible thing and I’m going to thank my lucky stars that I started to turn my procrastination around.

Now excuse me while I go back to not listening to my professor drone on at the front of this class. Oh yeah, did I mention that I’m in class while writing this? I told you I was good at coursework. 🙂

So until tomorrow,

cheers.

Leave a Reply

