I voted!

This post is going to be in two parts this evening. Well. Actually, it’s more of a live blog. Hmm. Well. Let’s be real. I’m going to talk a bunch about voting and I’ll touch on my current freak out about the ballots coming in, then we’ll call it a night.

I also need to be honest and preface this whole thing with the fact that in order to take the edge off of my anxiety about this election, I’m drinking some adult beverages. I’m not ashamed. Now move on.

Last night I pulled an all nighter. I stayed up all night to write my paper and I’ve only slept for about two hours since then in random spurts of naps. So when I changed out of my pajamas and put on real clothes including my “Voldemort can’t stop Barack” T-shirt and headed out to the polls, I wasn’t really sure what to expect for my day.

I’m not really sure if it was my sleep deprivation or what, but I was shaking with excitement when I was casting my vote. I’m not kidding; if any single person was paying attention to me while I was filling out  my ballot, they would have noticed that I was dancing in place, biting my knuckle, smiling like a fool, and physically having to restrain myself from squealing as I marked my bubble for Obama and Biden, and also to vote “no” on the marriage amendment for Minnesota.

To anyone paying attention, I’m positive that I looked like a child in a candy store. Holy cow.

This was the first presidential election that I’ve been allowed to vote for and it has been and honour, a privilege, and a crazy stressor in my life. But it was a rush and I’m so happy that I’ve been able to take part in this important election.

And now I’m sitting on my sofa with a beer and pizza as I wait with friends for the results of the election.

Now, I don’t know about any of you, but I’m completely strung out about this. For me, this is either keep moving forward, or send our country back by sixty years. Which means that unless you’re a rich, white, straight male, we’ve all got something to worry about. And last time I checked, that population of people was pretty small.

(Check in: It’s 8:55 p.m. and the “Vote No” on the marriage amendment is around 60%. So yay!)

I’m not so patiently awaiting to see who our Presidential Elect is going to be for the next four years. I can only hope that the nation realized what kind of person and what kind of leader that Obama has been for the past four years. While I do agree that he’s made some mistakes, I think that he has so much more potential for this election.

(Check in: It’s 9:01 p.m. and it is proposed for Obama to win Minnesota. Good on yeh, Minnesota!)

And at this point, I need to step back and realize that I’m much too distracted to write much more on the election. Tomorrow, I will touch slightly on the final count for the election and the Presidential Elect.

This is the Shark House Newsroom signing off.

Until tomorrow,

cheers.

Leave a Reply

