True Life: I’m addicted to HGTV

I have 99 problems and a love for HGTV is most definitely one of them.

Now, I’m not saying that I arrange my schedule around shows on the channel or go crazy about new episodes. 

I’m just saying that I’ll watch the same episode of House Hunters: Renovation over and over again and not be bored.

Basically, this channel has become my background noise as I work on a paper or, in my current case, write a new blog post. (The home-owners aren’t down with the bright yellow wall the designer is painting in their bedroom.)

This doesn’t seem like a problem to most people. But that’s because the problem doesn’t lie on the surface. This is all internal.

Because while this channel generally just plays as my white noise, I find myself distracted by the drama that goes on when Hillary tells the homeowners that there’s something ELSE wrong with their house and now they can’t have the bathroom that they desperately need. I’m pulled from my writing to judge a designer for a particular choice of using mirrors as a back splash in the kitchen.

Essentially, I’ve told myself that I could design houses for a living.

Maybe I should change what I’m going to school for………..

Only kidding.

But really, if anything, this channel makes me want to grow up faster so I can have a house and make it look awesome. Too bad I’m not ready to grow up just yet.

So for now, I guess I’ll just suffer with this channel and hope that one of the Property Brothers shows up at my apartment door with a ring in one hand and the keys to a fixer-upper in the other. 🙂

Until tomorrow,

cheers.

 

Leave a Reply

