The first roadblock

Today has given me a significant lack of inspiration for writing.

It wasn’t a bad day. On the contrary, it was actually a really good day — one of the best I’ve had in a long time.

I smiled a lot today.

I laughed a lot today.

I snuggled, slept, watched a film, and happily existed today.

But nothing was enough to spark my interest in writing.

Perhaps this is just my selfishness coming out. That happens sometimes, you know.

I had such a lovely day that I want to keep it for myself. I don’t want to have to share it with anyone else. And don’t I deserve that sometimes? To be able to just keep something in my pocket and hold the memory near and dear?

I definitely think it’s okay.

The unfortunate thing about selfishness is that it has a gloriously negative connotation. If want something for ourselves with no intentions to share it with others, we’re selfish. But then we turn around and say things to people like, “sometimes you just gotta do you,” or, “if you want something, you have to go get it! Don’t let anyone get in your way.”

I wish that we could change this awful idea that being selfish is ALWAYS a bad thing. I don’t need to feel guilty because I want to keep the beautifully simplistic memory of today to myself. Because I wear myself out when I’m always trying to make other people happy.

So all you need to know is that today was a fantastic day for me. 

And that being selfish is okay sometimes.

And that perhaps there was inspiration in today after all.

And…just kidding. 🙂

Until tomorrow,

cheers.

Leave a Reply

