Burnt out

I’ve been thinking about this one for a while.

Wondering what it is that’s making me feel so down.

And then it hit me one day: I’m burnt out.

The thought “Grad school was a mistake” has crossed my mind far too many times in the past month for me to really feel comfortable with it, and I really began to believe that.

But after further examination, I’ve realized that I’m just burnt out on Minnesota. Specifically, the Fargo/Moorhead area.

Because honestly, grad school has been one of the most exciting and liberating things that has ever happened to me. I highly enjoy what I’m learning regardless of the professor who drives me nuts.

I’m in love with the people who I’m meeting and I’m so excited to see what comes to me in my future.

But I’m so over being here.

I should have never stayed in Moorhead.

I don’t care that by staying here, I was given a job that is giving me a boatload of experience.

I don’t care that by staying here, I don’t have to pay for grad school.

I don’t care that by staying here, I don’t have to pay rent.

What I do care about, however, is my current mental status.

Now, I’m not saying that I regret staying here and having these things dropped into my life, I just wish that I would have actually listened to myself when the little bird in the back of my head told me that I was eventually going to feel this way. 

But this is a lot of negativity. Too much for my liking.

So to combat, here are a few things that make staying here awesome:

  1. I have the ability to hang out with the super cool staff that is Nelson/Grantham
  2. I’ve met and created a beautiful best friendship with Kitten. 🙂
  3. I still get to be a snow baby and not feel like I’m going to die when it’s cold outside.
  4. I’ve regained a love for Caribou Coffee.
  5. Rhombus Guys exists here.

I’ll stay here until I graduate in May 2015. It’s going to be hard, but I’m a fighter and I’ll make it through with (hopefully) minimal hiccups.

I don’t hate Moorhead, but a note to my past self: Don’t go to grad school where you got your undergrad.

Until tomorrow,

cheers.

Leave a Reply

