If I knew then what I know now.

If I knew then what I know now,
I would have smiled more.
I would have laughed more.
I wouldn’t have commented on the fitted sheet having come off the corner again.

If I knew then what I know now,
I would have breathed the air of the room in deeper.
I would have I would have held you closer.
I wouldn’t have missed the opportunity make sure that you knew that I just liked being in the same space as you.

If I knew then what I know now,
I would have been quieter.
I would have laced my fingers with yours just to feel the callouses.
I wouldn’t have let you leave without asking for just one more kiss.

But I didn’t know then what I know now.

It was just another day.

Leave a Reply

