Life is too short to ___________.

I was just scrolling through my blog’s feed looking for some sort of inspiration of what to write about when this popped up: “Life is too short to _________.”

And it caught me a bit off guard. Mostly because I haven’t thought about this phrase in quite some time. I mean, we hear people say it all the time to each other; “Life’s too short to worry that much.” “Life is to short to not have the second piece of pie.” “Life is too short to be serious all the time.” The list goes on and on.

But it brought me to wonder what I personally think life is to short to do or not do. And because I’m working on not always feeling like I have to explain myself, today, I’m only going to state them and then I’ll move on. Ready? No? (Don’t tell anyone, but I’m not all that ready either.)

Life is too short to not ask for exactly what you want.

Life is too short to not pet the cat, even when he thinks that right now is the perfect time to be a dick.

Life is too short to not have that whiskey ginger.

It’s too short to not tell him or her how you feel.

Too short to not stay in and read the book that’s been on your mind for ages.

It’s too short to not feel all of your emotions at the same time.

It’s too short to tell yourself that you aren’t worth it.

And life is most definitely too short to not take your time getting to the end of your life.

I’m sure that I could go on for ages about things that we’re not given enough time to do or not do, but one thing is sure: We must find what is important to us and go for it. We don’t have as much time on this earth as we tell ourselves, but we mustn’t forget that each second is to be cherished and that it’s okay to get to where we’re going at each stage when we get there…as long as we get to where we want to be.

And with that, I’ll stop being shmoopy (was I beeing shmoopy? I can’t tell…I’m sleepy. ha!)

So until tomorrow,

cheers.

Leave a Reply

