A rarity: Missing Mum and Dad

Sometimes I just really miss my parents.

Honestly, it doesn’t happen to me very often. Not because I don’t love them or don’t want to see them, but because they raised me to be fairly independent and I don’t feel like I need to see them all that often.

But every once in a long while, I find myself wishing that I could drive home and just be with them.

Like right now.

I was having a one on one meeting with my desk manager today and I realized that I hadn’t seen my parents in months. In fact, I actually couldn’t remember the last time that I had seen them period. I later remembered that I had gone home for a funeral in September, but it took much longer for me to remember it than it should have.

It doesn’t make me any less of an adult to want a really big, rib-crushing hug from my dad or to wish that I could just have my mum make a meatloaf dinner on a random Tuesday night.

Perhaps it means that I’ve grown up in a sense. Because it appears that I’ve taken those hugs and that meatloaf for granted too many times before. Or maybe it’s just knowing that come May, I don’t know where my life will take me or how much farther away from my parents I’ll be.

There are so many reasons why I could be having this undying yearn to see my parents, but I’m thankful that I’ll be seeing them in two weeks when I go home for Thanksgiving. And trust me, I’ll be taking in their presence so much that I’ll be good for another couple months on seeing them again. Kidding. 😛

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again: Leaving home is one of the hardest things you’ll ever do alone. It doesn’t matter who or what is “home” to you. But no matter how cruddy it is to leave home, there’s no feeling like being able to go home again.

Dear Mum and Dad: I miss you. I can’t wait to see you. I love you so much.

Until tomorrow,

cheers.

One thought on “A rarity: Missing Mum and Dad

Leave a Reply

