Thoughts from places: Jenna’s apartment

She knows it all too well, but Jenna is one of the most important people in my entire life.

In the fall of 2011, she moved into 128
Dahl Hall and quickly made room in my heart as one of my residents.

You could say we never looked back.

You see, when you get trained in as a Resident Assistant, they tell you that sometimes you’ll make a connection with one of your residents that will change the way you view your life. Or they’ll make you so angry sometimes that you can’t help but love them to death.

Jenna was that resident for me. Even though I couldn’t remember her name to save my life until that one time I found her spread eagle on the sofa in my lounge after a Cabaret rehearsal. I won’t go into details, but I will forever have the image burned into my brain.

This wonderful woman has had my back in good and bad times, and I can honestly say that I would do absolutely anything for her. She knows me better than most people in my life, and I would hope she’d say the same thing about me because it’s true.

We bond over cats, tattoos, and wine. We’re fueled by music, literature, and obscure thoughts. And we see the world through two sets of fantastically hipster glasses.

I never want to know my life without her again.

So dear Jenna: You are a phenomenally wonderful woman. You light up my life on a regular basis and I’m in love with the way you view your world.

We’ll leave together. xx

Until tomorrow,

cheers.

Leave a Reply

