I turned 25, now what?

Last Thursday (not surprisingly, one of the days I missed while working my way through NaBloPoMo) I turned 25 years old.

*insert a party and a big “hooray!” here*

I am officially a quarter-of-a-century girl!

But what does that even mean  for my life?

My oh-so-loving cousin texted me that evening and told me that it’s all downhill after 25, but I’m not so sure about that.

I mean, I’m not in any sort of committed relationship, I don’t have any kids, and I just got a “big kid job” which I start right after the first of the year. As far as I’m concerned, the few days I’ve been 25 have been the best of my life; no sight of a downward hill in the horizon.

But 25 is still a big occasion! SO! I’ve decided to created a list of 25 things I want to accomplish in the next year (think of it as a much smaller scale of my original 101/1001 list). Be aware, some of them are more “me” goals and I’ll need to find a way to measure my success, but this isn’t all about doing, it’s got a lot to do with becoming a better me.

Twenty-Five Things in my 25th Year (yes, I realize this is actually the 26th year):

  1. Start the long process to become a licensed professional counselor
  2. Become a legal resident of Massachusetts
  3. Find an organization to regularly volunteer with (maybe a humane society?)
  4. Commit more time to writing (poetry, prose, or blogs)
  5. Stay committed to my five-year line journal
  6. Re-commit to my “healthy me” journey
  7. Read twelve books
  8. Spend some time hiking through the nature reserves close to the Curry campus
  9. Call home much more often than I do currently
  10. Visit a part of the world that I’ve never seen before (even if that just means a part of our country I’ve never seen before)
  11. Save money for a new iPad
  12. Bake a pumpkin pie from scratch
  13. Make an effort to smile more at strangers
  14. Send care packages to people back home (I’m looking at you Zandie)
  15. Spend more time talking about Evan
  16. Allow myself to have free time (even if it’s just 10 minutes every day)
  17. Write thank-you cards. Say thank-you more often in general
  18. Be aware of my attitude at all times and be completely intentional with everything that I say
  19. Create and stick to an “adult” budget; whittle down my debt
  20. Take more pictures of the beautiful things around me
  21. Floss more often than never
  22. Be able to answer the question “when is the last time you did something for the first time?” quickly and with certainty
  23. Re-commit to learning French
  24. Stop making excuses for why I haven’t accomplished any of this in the past
  25. Be my true, authentic self

There it is. A list of things that I want to work on and accomplish in the next year of my life. Perhaps this will be a foundation for future blogging topics, eh?

I’m up for a good challenge. 🙂

So until later (one more today!),

cheers.

Leave a Reply

