I’m moving to Boston and I’m scared out of my mind

You may recall via Facebook or a few of my other blogs this month that I went to Boston three weeks ago for two job interviews at two colleges in the area and, to my delight, was offered the position at both of them.

And then I realized what being offered a job half-way across the country meant.

I’m moving to Boston at the end of December and I’m scared out of my mind.

It’s not really the unknown that scares me. It’s not even really knowing that I’ll be completely on my own for the first time; being unable to drive for two hours and be at my parents’ house or to just pop in at a friend’s place for dinner. No, it’s none of that. What really scares me is the literal moving part of it.

About a week ago, I talked about how many times I’ve moved in the past six years, and honestly, I haven’t stopped thinking about it since. I have to pack up my entire life (again), move it all to my parents’ house, then decide what I need from all of my stuff to bring to Curry and hope I haven’t forgotten anything important, pack it all into my car with my cat (which is another thing that I have to try to figure out how to do) and my sister, and drive for literally 24 hours to get to where I’m living.

I hate packing. I don’t much care for driving. I dislike being sleep-deprived. And this move covers all of those things.

So, scared? Maybe not the best word. But the point is that I’m moving across the country and I have no idea what is in store for me.

And who knows: Maybe the things I’m not scared of right now will terrify me when I make it to Massachusetts.  We’ll all just have to wait and see.

Until later (cuz I have to make up two days plus write today’s),

cheers.

Leave a Reply

