The art of maintaining an untidy apartment

I frequently find myself asking Elliott why our apartment is so messy considering that I rather enjoy having things neat and tidy in my life.

He usually just gives me a judgmental look then goes back to licking himself (unrelated: I’m always so amazed by the flexibility of cats).

But then I look around and decide that it’s more exciting to watch another episode of Grey’s than it is to get up and put all of the clothes on my floor back into the closet where they belong.

You know, this would all be solved if I would just put things away after I’ve used them (duh), but honestly, what’s the fun in that?

Because if I just put everything away, then I wouldn’t be able to hone my skills of dish stacking or shoe pile navigating! And who would I be if I didn’t have any of those skills?!

A very boring person. That’s who.

But I digress; I do sometimes wish that I could go back to a time when I had roommates and usually made sure to keep things cleaner so they wouldn’t want to throw me out on the street. Maybe that’s the key: Live with someone who makes you want to keep your space clean on the regular.

Apparently that person for me isn’t Elliott the cat.

I guess that just means that I’ll have to find a roommate who doesn’t spend his entire day sleeping or licking his butt and can run the vacuum every once in a while.

Until tomorrow,

cheers. xx

Leave a Reply

